Snow Daze

I’m not entirely sure is its the lack of sleep or the freezing/snowy weather…but I have been feeling very fatigued and lethargic. A prime example of this it the fact that I meant to put this blog up last week. Very little energy mixed with an insane amount of ambiguously described assignment is only making me want to be even more of a shut it. Just about the only thing I look forward to is Michigan Makers ( which we didn’t do this week due to the MLK holiday). But having the day off from classes did help me get started on my assignments (or at least trying to understand them).

So glad that this weeks assignment for 643 is right up my alley. Screencast seem a little more difficult than they really are and three minutes is plenty of  time. But like we saw in class..there are several ways a screen cast can go very wrong. So here’s a list of a few things we discussed in class and some from my own experiences in broadcast journalism:

  1. A script is your friend! Please don’t think you are going to remember everything you want to say and the order in which it should be said. Not having a script leaves you open to sound like you have no clue what you’re saying. A tip about scripts I learnt from being a radio host: WRITE IN ALL CAPS. It makes the words easier to see and read.
  2. You’re not going to like the way your voice sounds the first time you hear play back the audio but trust me that’s how you sound to the rest of the world. Focus more on pronouncing your words clearly.
  3. Start with the ADDIE plan first! Many of the things you write in the plan can become phrases you use in the script later. Make sure you’ve got a clear understanding of your objective, audience and the tool you are describing. It will make writing the script easier.
  4. It may take a few times before you think its perfect. Don’t get frustrated, shake it off…have a drink of water and try again.

It also doesn’t hurt if you have a cool accent. None the less I think this week for 643 will be a more flexible one for me and I’m so grateful for it. I’m really looking forward to seeing how everyone’s screen casts turn out.

Til next time….shhhhh

Leave a Reply

