Information Literacy– Evaluating websites

Class this week was different — in a good way. We got a chance  to work independently and be creative, which isn’t something I get to do much in grad school. We were given time and a list of tools to creatively come up with a way to ask or answer a question about information literacy. It was really interesting to see what everyone did with their time. Some people did really funny memes, some did posters and flyers. I did a word cloud. For my word cloud I went through my classmates blogs and choose a few that I really like. I took the blog post and created a word cloud to compare what terms and words were used most often. Heres what it looked like.

wordCloud

It was interesting to see how we used all of these different tools like canva and bitstrips to convey similar ideas. And it was good to see everyone creative and social side.

We also did a little experience in information literacy. Basically Kristin read us a blog story and asked up how creditable it was. There was a lot of back and forth about whether or not the story was real or not. I took the article at face value because I regardless of whether or not it was true it wouldn’t have impacted me. I think its important to be able to evaluate a website and be able to tell if the information should be trusted. But to me, that skill isn’t necessary for every piece of information you come across on the internet. I scroll through my Twitter daily and read things that sometime seem unrealistic, but unless its breaking news ( like a life or death situation) I’m just going to accept it and move on. I think if you are doing research or you are reading a news story, then its really important to check the facts and make sure what your hearing is true. But there aren’t enough hours in the day to spend time check is someones blog or twitter post is a fact.

Til next time..shhh

2 comments

  1. It would be a full time job to fact check every tweet and Facebook post! I think you have a good perspective on when to fact check, such as when you are going to be writing a paper or viewing the information as credible news. Any time that I would be in a situation of repeating the given information, I would want to be sure what I was saying checked out. In those cases, I would be associated with it and responsible for other people hearing about it. Although I can’t say I’m innocent from ever having engaged in gossip, unfortunately…

  2. I agree with you and Rachel – there’s just so much information out there and it’s hard to verify all of it for accuracy! The more we talked about the Google glass story, the more skeptical I got. And I, like you, sometimes skip things that sound unrealistic and don’t try to check if they’re real. Though sometimes when I see things on Facebook like a post that goes around sometimes about how much charities give to their CEOs and you don’t know if it’s true or not, I like to check Snopes.com, which is a site that has a lot of urban legends and internet stories and things and they try to see if they can verify or discredit the story. Snopes found that the thing about charity executive salaries was based on old information (http://www.snopes.com/politics/business/charities.asp). I think it’s because I like donating to causes and so I wanted to make sure my money was being used well – and it sounds like it is! Anyway, there’s a lot of weird, kind of mythical stuff out there, but I like that there are some cool debunking resources too.

Leave a Reply

