Formative Assessment

This weeks reading had a lot to do with how people learn and how they make sense of information. The reading are very interesting because they are meant to teach instructors how to assess whether or not students are receiving the information. Formative assessment centers on how student receive, understand and later how they apply new information into their work. According to the Greenstien reading, formative assessment has more to do with the students reflections on their learning process rather than how the teacher delivers the information.

Some of the major points I pulled out of both of the reading is that the outcome of a lesson needs to be clear and that feedback and time to reflect is just as important to the lesson plan as the content. In fact content in the right context, with goals, relevant feedback and self assessment are key to improving learning.

I find this really interesting to read about because at the same time I should be using these steps to ensure I am retaining the information. Learning how to teach is a trick process. But it all came together nicely after anylizing the cycle of instruction with formative assessment.

blog1

 

This image made the process much easier to understand.  Each step is important and throughout a lesson it’s important to assess how you understand and apply information.

I don’t think I’ve cognitively gone through each step and assessed my learning but I do think at some point many students get use to subconsciously doing it. However I think its important, especially when time with students in limited, to ensure that student are receiving information as effectively as possible.

I’m looking forward to discussing this in class.

Til next time…shhhh

 

One comment

  1. Formative assessment has been a major topic of discussion for me this semester across most of my classes. Like you, I don’t have a ton of experience thinking about how I’m learning things, though a lot of my graduate-level classes at least attempt to make students reflect. It’s hard to fit in time for reflection into classes that are already jam-packed with information to impart to students, but incorporating aspects of metacognition is the best way to make sure students are actually absorbing the information.

Leave a comment