Book Club Reflection

The Spade book club was a lot of fun. Somehow we all chose very interesting, twisted, thought-proving readings. It was weird that all of the stories were in some way related (mostly because they all had to do with pain, death, or teaching someone a lesson). Aside for the great conversation, we also have a very yummy array of snacks, which meant we too a lot of snack breaks. However we did break a very important book club rule—we have crunchy snacks like crackers, which made it a little awkward at times.

We had a really goo conversation about the Margaret Atwood reading Happy Endings. I had never heard of Margaret Atwood before so I was unaware of her writing style and other works. The conversation we had about this short story went back and forth about the actually content of the story and Atwood  writing style. It was very interesting because had it not been for the book club I still may not have been aware of Atwood but hearing my classmate describe her other work changed the way i though about the story. That conversation really made be think deeper about the story and want to read more of Atwood  work. I didn’t think about how the author of a story could change how you think and feel about it. Having that conversation made all of us think more about the other authors of each of our stories and how their style and background may effect how we reflect on the reading.

That reminded me of our course of transliteracy and knowing the sources of work published before you react on it. The process of looking in to the source or author can change how you original though about an article or reading. We had a much deeper conversation once the authors intention was brought up and I really enjoyed that. I plan on reading more of Atwood work and also being more aware of the voice of the author whenever I read.

Til next time……shhh!

One comment

  1. I like hearing about the other book club, especially since our group did not pick readings that were quite as dark, it sounds like. I also have yet to read Margaret Atwood, but I need to! I will have to check out that story from the book club. And it is definitely important to look into the author and the time something was written to really get a feel for them. It’s interesting to me in the context of Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card. Not sure how familiar you are with it, but let’s just say that I knew about Card’s views before I read Ender’s Game and so it definitely colored how I was reading into things. I can give you more details if you want, or I’m sure you can use your librarian powers to find them too, but let’s just say that his political views seem to contradict some of the content in Ender’s Game (putting it lightly).

Leave a Reply

